Thursday, May 19, 2011

Nobel Peace Prize

-          In the 1890’s, the Swedish Alfred Nobel donated his large fortune to the Nobel Prizes
-          He dedicated the award to “the person who have done the most or best work for fraternity between nations, for the abolition or reduction of standing armies and for the holding and promotion of peace congress.”

-          An example of a Nobel Peace Prize was Kofi Annan: “for their work for a better organised and more peaceful world.”

-          The first Nobel Prize was won by Henry Dunant, in 1901, founder of the Red Cross, who shared it with Frederic Passy, a leading international pacifist.
-          In addition to humanitarian efforts, it has also been awarded for advocacy of human rights, mediation of international conflicts, and arms control.

-          The Nobel Peace Prize has been awarded to 120 Laureates- 97 times to individuals and 23 times to organisations.
-          Of the 97 individuals, 12 were women.
-          Organisations can win too- e.g. Red Cross and Amnesty International

-          Note more info can be found at

No comments:

Post a Comment